1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Foods With Gluten

Managing Celiac Disease and a Gluten-Free Diet


Updated May 19, 2014

rolled oats
Image Source/Digital Vision/Getty Images

Do you have celiac disease or are you gluten-intolerant? If so, avoid any food with gluten including wheat, rye, or barley in the ingredients list, or that indicates it has been manufactured in the presence of wheat, gluten, or gluten-containing ingredients. Some celiac patients also need to avoid oats. (Note: If you are allergic to wheat but do not have celiac disease, please see Foods to Avoid on a Wheat-Free Diet for a list of unsafe foods that does not include rye- or barley-containing ingredients.)

Dining out poses a challenge for those with a gluten allergy because it’s not always clear whether or not dishes contain gluten. There is a new trend towards restaurants catering to their gluten-free population and even having a separate menu with items free of gluten. When in doubt, ask your server how a dish is prepared and ask for substitutions whenever possible.

Avoid any food containing the following:

  • Wheat, wheat berries, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheatgrass, or any form of the word wheat (other than buckwheat, which is an unrelated plant)
  • Barley, barley malt, barley flour, or any form of the word barley.
  • Rye, rye flour, pumpernickel flour, or any form of the word rye.
  • Oats, oatmeal, oat flour, oat groats, or any form of the word oats, if your doctor has advised you to avoid oats. If your doctor permits oats on your gluten-free diet, look for gluten-free oats.
  • Flour, including instant, bread, cake, enriched, graham, and all-purpose flours. Flours made from safe grains (such as corn flour, millet flour, and rice flour) are safe.
  • Triticale
  • Einkorn
  • Spelt
  • Semolina
  • Durum
  • Bulgar or Bulghar
  • Kamut
  • Cracker meal
  • Couscous
  • Tabbouleh
  • Tempura crumbs
  • Malt, unless specified as being made from a non-gluten source (such as corn).

Avoid foods containing the following unless the label indicates they are from a non-gluten source:

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Modified food starch
  • Vegetable starch or vegetable protein
  • Gelatinized starch or pregelatinized starch
  • Natural flavorings
  • Soy sauce (look for wheat-free tamari as an alternative)

Be especially alert for the presence of wheat and gluten in the following:

  • Breads, pastries, cakes, cookies, crackers, doughnuts, pies, pretzels, and all other baked goods. The majority are made from wheat flour; look for alternatives by allergy-safe manufacturers.
  • Breakfast cereals, both hot and cold.
  • Pasta, including gnocchi, spaetzle, chow mein, lo mein, and filled pastas. Rice noodles, pure buckwheat soba noodles, and pastas from allergy-friendly manufacturers are good alternatives for home cooking.
  • Snack foods, especially if seasoned or highly processed.
  • Soups, gravies, and thickened sauces.
  • Breaded meats or vegetables, such as fried chicken or okra.
  • Dumplings, meatballs, lunch meats, meat loaves, and similar foods (often held together with breadcrumbs or flour).
  • Beer (Gluten-free beers are available.)
  • Salad dressings, Worcestershire sauce, and other condiments.


National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse. Celiac Disease. The Gluten-Free Diet: Some Examples. September 2008. 23 Oct. 2008.

Celiac Sprue Association. Gluten-Free Diet: Grains and Flours. October 8, 2008. 23 Oct. 2008.

Related Video
Strengthen Abs and Core Muscles With Free Weights
  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Food Allergies
  4. Common Food Allergies
  5. Wheat Allergies
  6. Gluten Free Diet - Foods With Gluten to Avoid

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.