1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Are Egg Substitutes Safe if You Have an Egg Allergy?

By

Updated June 18, 2014

Written or reviewed by a board-certified physician. See About.com's Medical Review Board.

Are Egg Substitutes Safe if You Have an Egg Allergy?

Refrigerated liquid egg substitutes are usually made from eggs.

Ulrik Tofte/Getty Images
Question: Are Egg Substitutes Safe if You Have an Egg Allergy?
Answer:

Low-cholesterol liquid egg substitutes sold in grocery store dairy coolers are made from eggs. The following commercial products all contain eggs and are not safe for people with egg allergies:

  • Egg Beaters
  • Bay Valley Foods Second Nature Egg Substitute
  • Generic liquid egg substitutes sold in cartons or powdered egg white products

However, there are special egg replacer products that do not contain eggs. They are often marketed as vegan egg substitutes and are usually sold in a powdered form. They are useful for baking, but cannot be used to substitute for eggs in foods like quiche.

Commercial egg replacers that are egg-free include:

Always check the ingredients on the package label before buying a product sold as an egg substitute or replacer to make sure that the product is completely egg-free. Many of these products contain soy, dairy, or other big eight food allergens.

You can also try one of our homemade egg substitutes. This article explains which substitute works best for which type of recipe and gives links to egg-free recipes for you to try:

Related Video
Egg Carton Caterpillar

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.